

MEETING MINUTES

Board of Elections Meeting Friday, November 18, 2022 11:00 A.M.

Board Members:

Dawn Y. Baxton, Chairwoman Gregory D. Irby, Secretary Philip A. Lehman, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member David K. Boone, Member

Board Members Present: Chairwoman Dawn Y. Baxton, Member Philip A. Lehman, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member Gregory D. Irby, and Member David K. Boone

Board Staff Present: Elections Director Derek Bowens, Deputy Director Brenda Baker, Logistics and Systems Manager David Beuttel, and Systems Specialist Julius Richards

Guests in Attendance: See Attendance Sheet

Meeting Type: In-Person and Zoom

Meeting Opening

Chairwoman Baxton called the meeting to order at approximately 11:00 a.m. at the Board of Elections Warehouse (2445 S. Alston Ave, Durham, NC 27713) and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda

Mr. Bowens presented the Board with the agenda for the meeting. Following review, Mrs. Oxendine moved to approve the agenda as submitted by staff. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

Public Comment

No comments or questions were provided.

New Business

a. Sample Audit Count and Pending Provisional Ballots

- Mr. Bowens informed the Board that all hand-eye counts for East Regional One-Stop Site and Precinct 25 reconciled, with minor variances to the machine totals for the sampled precincts.
- Mr. Bowens informed the Board that additional documentation was not received for any pending provisional ballots. The approved and partial provisional counts remain the same.

b. Voter Challenge Hearings (GS 163-89)

Mr. Bowens was sworn in by Chairwoman Baxton preceding the presentation of evidence for each of the challenges below. Additional details will be placed in the challenge orders executed by Chairwoman Baxton.

- o Mr. John Marquez (VRN: 000030431456): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes for Mr. Marquez that he was not eligible to cast. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. Clifford Manigault (VRN: 000030016698): Mr. Irby moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Mr. Manigault was not eligible to cast. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. Randy Harrison (VRN: 000000546639): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Mr. Harrison was not eligible to cast. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.
- o Ms. Mary C. Clements (VRN: 000030000219): Mr. Lehman moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Ms. Clements was not eligible to cast. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. John C. Murray (VRN: 000000342175): Mrs. Oxendine moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Mr. Murray was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Ms. Darla Grill (VRN: 000030407667): Mr. Irby moved to sustain the challenge and to remove votes that Ms. Grill was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- Mr. Henry Hayden (VRN: 000030404782): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and to remove votes that Mr. Hayden was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. DeRosa (VRN: 000000661914): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Mr. DeRosa was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Ms. Constance Blackmore (VRN: 000000652974): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Ms. Blackmore was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0
- o Ms. Carolyn Scott (VRN: 000030106709): Mr. Lehman moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Ms. Scott was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. Robert Tilley (VRN: 000030381492): Mrs. Oxendine moved to sustain the challenge and remove votes that Mr. Tilley was not eligible to cast. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. Timothy Bracy (VRN: 000030292400): Mr. Irby moved to sustain the challenge and count the provisional ballot for Mr. Bracy. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Ms. Aniya Palmer (VRN: 000030433576): Mr. Boone moved to sustain the challenge and count the provisional ballot for Ms. Palmer. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- o Mr. Ronald Wilkerson (VRN: 000030373942): Mr. Lehman moved to sustain the challenge and count the provisional ballot for Mr. Wilkerson. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.

c. Review of Write-In Ballots

Mr. Bowens presented the Board with a list of Write-In results from the November 8, 2022,
Statewide General Election. Following discussion and review, Mr. Lehman moved to approve the

write-in votes and to authorize staff to make the necessary additions to the election reporting software. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

d. Review of Post-Election Audit

 Mr. Bowens presented the Board with a Post-Election Audit report for review. The report includes statistics for each reporting group (Absentee, Provisional, One-Stop and Election Day), and shows that the totals between ballots cast and voter history reconciled. A motion was not necessary for this item.

e. Canvass of the 2022 Statewide General Election

- Prior to the canvassing of the election, Mr. Bowens presented the Board with 25 provisional ballots and applications that were pending proof of residency by the deadline. The 25 provisional ballots did not meet the deadline, therefore staff requested that the ballots be moved to a not approved status. Following review, Mr. Lehman moved for staff to update the status of the pending provisional ballots to not approved. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- Mr. Bowens presented the Board with a request to finalize canvass for the November 8, 2022, Statewide General Election. The Board executed all required documentation prior to reviewing the consolidated results for certification. Following review of Canvass documents, Mr. Lehman moved to approve the certification of the November 8, 2022, Statewide General Election. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.

General Discussion

Mr. Bowens thanked his staff for their hard work and dedication during the election. The Board gave general recognition to the staff for conducting another quality election.

Adjournment

The Board adjourned at approximately 12:57 p.m. on a motion made by Mr. Boone. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

s/Gregory D. Irby Member