

MEETING MINUTES

Board of Elections Meeting Tuesday, February 6, 2024 5:30 P.M.

Board Members:

Dawn Y. Baxton, Chairwoman David K. Boone, Secretary James P. Weaver, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member Donald H. Beskind, Member

Board Members Present: Chairwoman Dawn Y. Baxton, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member James P. Weaver, Member Donald H. Beskind, and Secretary David K. Boone

Board Staff Present: Elections Director Derek Bowens, Deputy Director Brenda Baker, Voter Services Manager Daniel Lassiter, Systems Specialist Julius Richards, and Absentee Coordinator Alan Resley

Guests in Attendance: Senior Assistant County Attorney Bettyna Abney

Meeting Type: In-Person and Zoom

Meeting Opening

Chairwoman Baxton called the meeting to order at approximately 5:33 p.m. at the Durham County Board of Elections Warehouse (2445 S. Alston Ave, Durham, NC 27713) and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda

Mr. Bowens presented the Board with the agenda for the meeting. Following review, Mrs. Oxendine moved to approve the agenda as submitted by staff. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

Public Comment

No comments were provided in the portal or in-person.

New Business

a. Review of Absentee-by-Mail Ballots

- Mr. Bowens presented the Board with 17 absentee ballots and applications recommended for approval, for review. Following discussion and physical review, Dr. Weaver moved to approve a total of 17 ballots and applications per the recommendation of staff. Dr. Weaver also moved to allow staff to open and scan all approved absentee ballots as preparatory steps prior to the count on Election Day in accordance with NCGS 163-234(2) and (3). The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.
- The approved absentee counts for the February 6, 2024, meeting was 4 Civilian and 13 Military/Overseas duplicated ballots and applications. The total approved absentee count was 17.

General Discussion

There was no general discussion.

<u>Adjournment</u>

The Board adjourned at approximately 5:55 p.m. on a motion made by Mr. Boone. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

<u>s/David K. Boone</u> Secretary