

MEETING MINUTES

Board of Elections Meeting Tuesday March 05, 2024 2:00 P.M.

Board Members:

Dawn Y. Baxton, Chairwoman David K. Boone, Secretary James P. Weaver, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member Donald H. Beskind, Member

Board Members Present: Chairwoman Dawn Y. Baxton, Member Pamela A. Oxendine, Member James P. Weaver, Member Donald H. Beskind, and Secretary David K. Boone

Board Staff Present: Elections Director Derek Bowens, Deputy Director Brenda Baker, Voter Services Manager Daniel Lassiter, Systems Specialist Julius Richards, and Absentee Coordinator Alan Resley

Guests in Attendance: Senior Assistant County Attorney Bettyna Abney

Meeting Type: In-Person and Zoom

Meeting Opening

Chairwoman Baxton called the meeting to order at approximately 2:00 p.m. at the Durham County Board of Elections Warehouse (2445 S. Alston Ave, Durham, NC 27713) and led the Pledge of Allegiance.

Approval of Agenda

Mr. Bowens presented the Board with the agenda for the meeting. Following review, Dr. Weaver approved the agenda as submitted by staff. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

Public Comment

No comments were provided in the chat function or in-person.

New Business

a. Counting of Absentee Ballots (2:00 PM)

The Board began its count of all absentee ballots per a previously passed resolution and the results were uploaded into the tabulation software and published to the State Board of Elections website.

Recess

The Board recessed at approximately 2:22 p.m. and unanimously agreed to reconvene at 7:30 p.m. for the closing of the polls on early voting tabulators and to oversee Election Night Returns.

b. Counting of Early Voting Ballots (7:30 PM)

The polls were closed on voting equipment used to count early voting ballots. The Board reviewed this process and once complete, signed results tapes printed from the tabulators. Following the signing of results tapes, Mrs. Oxendine moved to authorize staff to upload election results into the tabulation software and publish them to the State Board of Elections website. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.

General Discussion

Mr. Bowens requested the Board to enter challenges for the following voters:

- Antar McCormick: This voter registered during the early voting period but was flagged by the State Board of
 Elections for a felony conviction. Following discussion, Dr. Weaver moved to challenge the ballot for Mr.
 McCormick due to a purported felony conviction. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- Jakori Johnson Jones: This voter was previously registered to vote, but registered during the early voting period and voted in a party primary that he was not eligible to vote in based on his existing registration record. Following discussion, Mr. Beskind moved to enter a challenge to the ballot of Mr. Jones due to him voting in the incorrect party primary. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.
- Camden Ross: This voter was previously registered to vote, but registered during the early voting period and voted in a party primary that he was not eligible to vote in based on his existing registration record. Following discussion, Mr. Boone moved to enter a challenge to the ballot of Mr. Ross due to him voting in the incorrect party primary. The motion passed unanimously, 5-0.

Adjournment

The Board adjourned at approximately 10:37 p.m. on a motion made by Mrs. Oxendine. The motion carried unanimously, 5-0.

s/David K. BooneSecretary